'Effigy' Press Release



RALEIGH, NC (April 24, 2014) – Aittala is set to release their third full-length album entitled ‘Effigy’ on June 17th, 2014. This is a follow-up to 2011’s ‘Haunt Your Flesh’.

‘Effigy’ consists of 10 songs; seven brand new hard and heavy Aittala tracks along with a ‘reimagining’ of the 3 songs from the 1993 demo ‘Selling Heaven’.

“Originally, ‘Effigy’ was meant to be a 4-5 song EP” vocalist/guitarist Eric, explains. “But we had seven completed songs that we felt were all strong. We just decided to record all seven of them, then figure out how to release them later.”

Since seven songs seemed an awkward number to release at one time, Eric came up with a creative solution.
“Since I had the original ‘Selling Heaven’ tracks digitized (from the 16-track reel), I thought it would be pretty cool to re-record everything using only the original drum and bass tracks and release them as fresh versions. This is giving me the opportunity to release versions of those songs how they were originally intended to sound if I had the time, money and technology when they were originally recorded.”

With regards to the 7 new songs that make up the bulk of the new album, Eric states “I’m very excited for people to hear the new material. I feel they’re the best Aittala songs released. The song writing is moving the sound in heavier direction with more of a focus on guitar-driven metal. In the last couple years I've been finding myself listening to heavier bands and those influences have been creeping into the way I'm approaching my song writing. But even with the heavier sound, the songs will keep the unique sound that Aittala has been complimented on.”

Besides Eric, the current band is made up of Gary ‘Zeus’ Smith on drums and Randall Rhodes on bass.
They recently returned from a 10-day tour of Europe and just released the first video single from the album for the song ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’

The ‘Effigy’ track list is as follows:
‘Russian Roulette’
‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’
‘Sinister as the Serpent (2014)’
‘Selling Heaven (2014)’
‘Creators of Doom (2014)’

'Effigy' album teaser

First video single from 'Effigy' - 'Something Wicked This Way Comes'